List of Vice presidents of independent India, and their tenure 

Since independence, India witnessed 13 Vice presidents till today. Vice presidents are also the chairman of Rajya Sabha, Legislature of the Union, which is called Parliament, consists of the two Houses, known as Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and House of the People (Lok Sabha). Each House has to meet within six months of its previous sitting. A joint sitting of two Houses can be held in certain cases. 

we are providing you the list of Vice presidents of India with their tenure. This article is very important for every government job aspirants. 

Name of Vice Presidents Tenure 
Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan  1952-1962 
Dr Zakir Hussain 1962-1967 
Varahagiri Venkatagiri 1967-1969 
Gopal Swarup Pathak 1969-1974 
B.D. Jatti 1974-1979 
Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah 1979-1984 
R. Venkataraman (B-1910) 1984-1987 
Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma  1987-1992 
K.R. Narayanan 1992-1997 
Krishan Kant 1997-2002 
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 2002-2007 
Mohammad Hamid Ansari 2007-2017 
Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu August 11, 2017 – Incumbent 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.