T20 World Cup winners till World Cup 2021

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 has begun. Though T20 WC takes place once every two years not a single T20 World Cup event took place for five years due to some planning changes made by the ICC and the COVID-19 pandemic. So fans were gifted two T20 World Cups in two years (2021 and 2022).

Australia was the ICC T20 World Cup winner of WC 2021. The first tournament was held in the year 2007 and the next one is in 2022 to be hosted by Australia. Let’s discuss the T20 world Cup winner countries.

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner : India

India defeated Pakistan in the final to win the tournament was the first to win the T20 World Cup. Captaincy of MS Dhoni, India won the title and haunted memory of ODI World Cup 2007 elimination vanished. They only lost one game in the tournament and that was against New Zealand in Super 8s. There were two India Pakistan matches in the tournament and both were nail biting specially first one with ball-out win of India.

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner: Pakistan

Pakistan won the trophy two years later in 2009. England was host of this tournament, and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in the final. Pakistan lost two matches: first match against England and a Super 8 match against Sri Lanka. But they managed to win the trophy and give their people moment of proud.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner : England

England beat Australia(their Ashes rivals) in the final and England, the first non-Asian team, to win the T20 World Cup in 2010. The English team had lost to the West Indies in their first game, but then they were invincible for rest of the tournament.

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner: West Indies

West Indies defeated hosts Sri Lanka in final and counted their first WC. The Caribbean team lost their first match of ICC T20 World Cup 2012 against Australia though, but won eventually.

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner : Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka defeated India in final and barred the hat trick label of being defeated in T20 WC. Though, team lost one match against England in the group stage, but they won the event with pride.

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner : West Indies

Here, West Indies scored two T20 WCs by beating England in final. The Caribbean team was champions in the 2016 T20 World Cup in India with only one match defeated against Afghanistan. 

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner : Australia

Australia has won the 50-over Cricket World Cup trophy five times however have failed to win the ICC T20 World Cup till 2021. It defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets to win ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The tournament was hosted in Oman and UAE and Aaron Finch’s team only defeat England in the group stage. Australia won by eight wickets, Chasing 173 in the final.

T20 World Cup 2022 Winner : ?

Former Australian cricketer Ricky Ponting has named three countries which can win the tournament: India, Australia and England.

However, opportunity for an ‘outsider’ South Africa to spoil the party as they have drawn with India earlier in the year and beaten England 2-1 in the summer.

Above winning the tournament, the game must prevail among the people. T20 World Cup editions have made this happened. Now, T20 WC is seen as festival for cricket fans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.